College Football Playoff National Championship

Tyrion Hodges, Author

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The College Football Playoff National Championship is the most important post-season game of the year for college football, it is used to determine a National Champion of NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), Which began play in the 2014 football season. These games are the final of the College Football Playoff, a bracket tournament showoff between the top four teams in the country. These teams are determined by a selection committee.

This years Championship hosted two 14-0 teams, with Alabama  Crimson Tide representing the SouthEastern Conference (SEC) and the Clemson Tigers representing the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC).  Despite Clemson being ranked higher in total offense and total defense, Alabama was the favorite to when this game, lead by legendary coach Nick Saban who has won 5 National Championships with the Crimson Tide, one of which being against the Tigers, he also defeated  the Tigers in the 2018 SugarBowl. Clemson coach Dabo Swinney also has quite the track record with multiple bowl games and his second National Championship under his belt with both coming against Alabama.

Statistically the games was pretty close with Clemson amassing a total of 482 yards, 347 of which passing and another 135 on the ground. Alabama had a total of 443 with 295 through the air and 148 on the ground. The difference setter in this game was Clemson forcing two turnovers which ultimately lead to a 44-16 victory and yet another National Championship.